#### **Andrews University**

### Digital Commons @ Andrews University

Lake Union Herald

Lake Union Herald

8-2022

Delegates at Lake Union constituency session vote to affirm the leadership: "Together in Mission: I Will Go" formally adopted as theme for next four years

Debbie Michel

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.andrews.edu/luh-pubs



▲ The Lake Union administrative team was reelected to serve for an additional four years. Left to right: president, Ken Denslow, with wife, Patricia; executive secretary, Elden Ramirez, with wife, Jenny; treasurer, Glynn Scott, with wife, Donna Mae; and general vice president, Carmelo Mercado, with wife, Rosanne. Please continue to pray for them as they support our 88,000 members in the Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Lake Region and Wisconsin conferences.

#### Delegates at Lake Union constituency session vote to affirm the leadership

"TOGETHER IN MISSION: I WILL GO" FORMALLY ADOPTED AS THEME FOR NEXT FOUR YEARS

On Sunday, May 15, delegates to the 23rd Lake Union Quinquennial Session voted by an overwhelming margin to reelect the current slate of officers to a term to last four years.

President Kenneth Denslow was first elected to this role on June 9, 2021. Prior to his presidency, he held several roles in the Lake Union, including president of Illinois Conference, and was assistant to the president of the North American Division.

"Thank you," said Denslow to the more than 300 delegates gathered at Pioneer Memorial Church in Berrien Springs, Mich. "We'll work hard to fulfill the obligation and responsibilities you've voted today," he said, referencing an earlier report which listed his three top priorities which are: growth in Adventist education, mission to the four largest cities in the Union, and leadership development. "We're glad to be here and look forward to getting acquainted even more than we have already."

Elden Ramirez was re-elected as executive secretary, a position held since Sept. 14, 2021. He joined the Lake Union from the North American Division where he served as undersecretary and previously was president of the Montana Conference.

"Thank you for the vote of confidence," Ramirez said. "This is the beginning of a partnership. We ask that you keep our family in prayer as we serve you. If there's anything we can do, please feel free to reach out and we'll be more than glad to visit your territory."

Glynn Scott, who has served as Lake Union treasurer for more than 20 years, thanked the constituents for their faith in his treasury team. "It's an honor to serve this Union, hence my tenure," he said. "I don't think I need to convince you that we're living in unusual times which requires wisdom beyond human wisdom. I solicit your prayer on behalf of my treasury team that we will be in tune for whatever God wants to do, recognizing His soon return."

Carmelo Mercado will continue to serve as vice president of Multicultural Ministry. Mercado has served at the Union since 2004 and said that it's been an honor and privilege. "When I first took this job, I didn't think I'd last this long. Praise God, it's been a wonderful, wonderful journey working with different people groups and working with everybody."

In addition to the administrative team, delegates voted to continue the leadership of the directors and associate directors. Additionally, they voted to promote Vicki Thompson from assistant to associate Human Resources director.

With the imminent retirement of Education director, Linda Fuchs, a new Education director was elected. Ruth Horton, Ed.D. has served as associate director since 2015 and will fill the director's role effective July 1. Sue Tidwell, the Union's certification registrar and Early Childhood Education coordinator, was elected to fill the role of associate director. Nicole Mattson, former Arizona and Indiana superintendent, will serve as an associate.

The Constitution and Bylaws Committee presented the following item, which was voted down:

"The members of the Organizing Committee shall be appointed by their respective conference's executive committee



▲ The Lake Union Conference team voted at the 23rd quinquennial constituency session on Sunday, May 15: vice president, Carmelo Mercado; treasurer, Glynn Scott; executive secretary, Elden Ramirez; associate treasurer, Jermaine Jackson; associate treasurer, Richard Moore; Youth director, Ron Whitehead; Human Resources associate director, Vicki Thompson; Information Systems director, Sean Parker; Education director, Ruth Horton; Communication director, Debbie Michel; president, Ken Denslow. (Missing: Education associate directors, Nicole Mattson and Sue Tidwell.

not less than sixty (60 days) prior to the constituency session. The organizing committee shall meet not less than thirty (30) days prior to the constituency session."

After a robust discussion, delegates voted to keep the current rule of selecting

members of the organizing committee on the same day as the constituency session.

The following 39 executive committee members were elected to serve from 2022 until 2026. ■

Debbie Michel, Lake Union Communication director

#### **Lake Union Executive Committee**

The list below is comprised of 11 who are appointed by virtue of their office (Union administrators and the presidents of Andrews University and AdventHealth Great Lakes), leaving 28 seats, of which 14 are employees (indicated by "E") and 14 lay persons (indicated with "L").

Kenneth Denslow
Ron Aguilera
Eddie Allen Sr. – E
Marcia Bedney – L
Eric J. Bell Jr. – E
Jesus Beltre – L
Mike Bernard – E
Bryce Bowman – E
Eva Cruz – L
Kenneth Denslow
Kameron DeVasher – E
Mark Eaton – E
Julius Everett Sr. – E

Jonathan Fetrick – E
Garth Gabriel
Deirdre Garnett – L
John Grys – E
Mirely Guerrero – L
Abraham Henry – E
Paulina Janevski – L
Gary Loster – L
Andrea Luxton
Nereida Martinez – L
Floyd T. Mathis – L
Gerardo Medina – L
Carmelo Mercado

James Micheff Jr.
Rijenna Murray – L
Onais Muza – L
Titus Naftanaila
Rita Pusey – L
Elden Ramirez
Doug Reeves – E
Justin Ringstaff – E
Glynn C.W. Scott
Brian Stephan – E
Yolanda Stonewall – E
Thor Thordarson
Vic Van Schaik

# New faces and incumbents elected as General Conference officers at 2022 Session

DELEGATES AFFIRM ROLE OF THE BIBLE AND SPIRIT OF PROPHECY

In addition to voting to reelect Ted N.C. Wilson to his third term, the 2022 General Conference (GC) in session, through the course of several days, voted to reelect the world church executive secretary, treasurer, undersecretary and undertreasurer.

Both executive secretary Erton Köhler and treasurer Paul Douglas have served in their roles for about one year, after their predecessors retired.

The undersecretary, Hensley
Moorooven, and undertreasurer,
J. Raymond Wahlen II, have had four and
seven years in their roles, respectively.

## General Conference Session Delegates Vote to Elect General Vice Presidents

The seven names include five current vice presidents, Abnor De Los Santos, Geoffrey Mbwana, Thomas Lemon and Guillermo E. Biaggi, and two new names, Audrey Andersson and Maurice Valentine.

## Delegates Reaffirm Role of the Bible and the Spirit of Prophecy

The resolution on the Bible states, in part, that delegates to the GC Session express their "conviction that the Bible is



▲ Delegates to the 61st General Conference Session in St. Louis, voted to reelect Ted N.C. Wilson as president of the General Conference on June 6.

Visit LakeUnionHerald.org AUGUST 2022 37